“All that I’m after is a life full of  laughter.” Yes, I’m listening to LIFE AFTER YOU–Daughtry. On Ash Wednesday. And popping down to the fellowship hall to check on the bassoon, grand piano, labyrinth, hundreds of candles, imagery and more. From “Miserere” to “Ashes to Ashes”, the classical to the ultra-contemporary, I’m finding my journey starting in Lent through music and her lyrics. What is it about the muse of music that stretches us towards dealing with our mushy messes?

For some reason I’m always more honest with myself when I’m listening to Mumford & Sons, Andra Moran, Mozart, & Martin Gore. Wow. All artists with the letter “M”; gotta be some weird Sesame Street thing in my head!

Why waste money on psychotherapy when you can listen to the B Minor Mass?

           Michael Torke

Is it the minor key? Is it the pain and redemption I’m holding onto that they so eloquently lay at my feet and make me confront? Or is it the constant Spirit of God reminding me that no matter how together I think I am, a whisper of lyric reminds me what I still need to confess, let go of and grab grace in return?

 This beginning of Lent as I dance this evening on a labyrinth in the middle of candles, people, ashes and graveyards, my heart will be pouring out its confession. For the all the things said and unsaid. Seen and unseen. Heard and misheard. For on Easter, I want to laugh. “But God raised Christ from the dead, freeing him from the agony of death, because it was impossible for death to keep its hold on him.” (Acts 2:24)

 

 

